At Home Tips For Back Pain Relief

There are many components to back pain. If you suffer from back pain it is very important you see a Dr. to identify what is causing your back pain. Having said that, I will now explain about a few of the components that will lead to you having chronic back pain, after that I will give you advice on how  and what you can do about it.

A large portion of all chronic back pain (pain that last more than 3 months), comes from a break down in the disc. We call this disc degeneration. There are several variables that will lead to disc degeneration. The one that I want to talk about in this article is what we call muscle imbalance. This problem is very common and probably the least understood. So I will do my best to explain it.

Muscle imbalances develop often as a result of simple activities. It has a lot to do with the control mechanisms in the nervous system for our muscles, and our daily activities.  You can very often have muscles get too tight, let’s say from sitting too long, and a as a consequence of the tight muscles other muscles can get weaker. This results in muscles going out of balance. It indirectly related to what is called the neuromuscular system. The technical medial term I am talking about is called reciprocal inhibition.   For the sake of simplicity all you really need to know is when muscle go out of balance (reciprocal inhibition) the effect is an increase in load on the disc. The muscle imbalance leads to  more pressure on one side of the disc relative to the other side. This really can be side to side or front to back. The uneven pressure on the disc will lead to a breakdown in the disc we call this disc degeneration, and this can lead to back pain.

The goal of this article is to help you understand back pain and help you identify that there are thing you can do to make yourself better. Now to fix the problems with the muscle imbalance, what you need to do is get the muscle back in balance. I have spent the last 18 years of my life helping people get out of pain and assist in the process of getting muscle back in balance.   To get the muscle back in balance is a 4 part process. This article is about the first part, this is known as the Inhibitory techniques. This is a process that is used to release tension, and/or decrease activity of the overactive neuro myofascial (muscle) tissues in the body. To accomplish this we use a foam roll. This roll is about 3 feet long and 6 inched in diameter. It is like a long foam cylinder. They are soft and have some give to them, they are foam!

This process is designed to do 2 very important things. Number one, to eliminate the effect trigger points will have on the muscles and the body. A trigger point is a portion of the muscle that will get real tight as a result of activities of your life, very often they will be the source of some low level pain. Number two; influence the effect the nerves and nervous system has on the muscles. Part of why you have muscles out of balance is because of the effect the nervous system has on the body.   If you are interested in performing this at home what you would need to do is order a foam roll the cost is roughly $20-30 USD. And start to roll up and down your spine. You want to position the roll at about your mid back. You would position the roll so that the end of the roll is at either elbow. You want to be able t roll up and down. You would be positioned on your back with the roll between your shoulder blades and start to roll up a few inches and down a few inches. If it hurts too much stop doing it.   Do this one time per day for 30-40 seconds gradually going higher and lower this will start to break up some of the trigger points and start to loosen up the muscles allowing the nervous system also to relax the hold it has on the muscles. Again if you have pain you need to see a Dr.

I have released on my website the top ten tips for back pain so if you find this information helpful you will find the top ten tips very helpful.  Yours in spinal health; Dr Jeff Winternheimer.

19 thoughts on “At Home Tips For Back Pain Relief

  1. I have constant low back pain – between (L4 & L5) I am 74 years old. I have had many doctors in the past ten years – I have been “stretched” on the machine (forgot the name of it), – My original doctors moved.. I don’t know what to do.
    I am intelligent woman – well educated and quite able to understand a response to this question, I live in a unit facing Barrington Road- on Holmes Way. – Schaumburg, IL. I would appreciate any suggestions -the pain has expanded up to between the shouler braids.

  2. Dear Dr Jeff,
    I was rear ended in my police car just over 2 years ago. After the accident I had pain in my neck,back,low back and shoulder. I have done over 4 months of physical therapy, 2 months of massage therapy and been seeing a chiro for the past year. None of which has brought relief. The chiro says its the L5-S1 disc which is causing my back pain and it causes a bunch of problems.
    There are days when i have to crawl out of my bed because the pain in my low back is that bad. I had mris done on my neck,back,shoulder and i have bulging discs in my neck and back.
    I saw you on t.v. and was interested, i was curious as to if you take blue cross/blue shield hmo?

    • We take BC/BS PPO at this time, we also offer Care Credit for those who do not have insurance. Our unique physical therapy would greatly benefit your condition. We specialize in treating and rehyrating the disc(s). Please call us to set up your FREE consultation at 708-482-9700.
      thank you,

  3. I have suffered from back pain for the last 8 yrs almost. Dr diagnosed herniated disk so I proceeded to have surgery because nothing seemed to help, procedure was a disectctomy. Little before got laid off from work due to my health condition. My pain was relieved for few years and now it’s back. Just got an MRI referred by a chiropractor. Results are that I have another herniated disk and my chronic pain is constant no matter what I do. Problem is I am not working, no insurance, husband is only one that works. The chiropractor has been nice to accept me in low payments of cash, same with the MRI. I am desperate!!! Do you offer financial help? Some kind of financial program? PLEASE HELP!!!!

    • Yes, we offer Care Credit for patients who need financial help. We also take BC/BS PPO and Medicare as of right now. Please call 708-482-9700 to set up your FREE consultation.
      thank you,

  4. I have a friend who has severe Spinal Psonosis, he wishes to avoid an operation. Do you have any treatments for this condition?

  5. I have a 20 year old son who went to the ER a week ago for back pain running down his leg. They said he had a bulging disk and it was sitting on his siatic nerve. Was given meds and told to follow up with his doc in a week. Went this past wednesday to the doc, doc wants to wait 2 more week then do an MRI if he is still in pain. More meds and another shot. Today, he is in worse pain than before he went to the doctor. Should he wait the two weeks for the MRI and does insurance cover your treatments? My heart breaks to see him in so much pain. Thank you, Kim DeBord

    • We treat Siatic and bulging disc’s. We do take insurance. Please call us right away to set up your FREE Consultation at 708-482-9700.
      thank you,

  6. Hi –
    I have a herniated disc L5S1 and it is pushing on my sciatic nerve. I have been seeing doctors and physical therapists since November of 2009. Now my doctor wants me to meet with w neurosurgeon and consider a microdiscetomy. Except I was told I should not do this until I have weakening of function. Since I just have pain my therapists have told me to just deal with it. I am at my wits end. I just joined Weight Watchers to hopefully get some of the pain to go away. They also just recently started using traction on me which seems to help, but I sit all day at work and that’s when I get the most pain. So I get up every 30 minutes for about 5-10 minutes. We have tried Mackenzie for PT and that did not seem to help. Am I just screwed and need to either get the surgery or live in pain? The pain only goes away when I lay down or when I stand up…so on the weekends I am pretty okay. Let me know if you have any input. Thanks!

    • Please call us at 866.693.0955, we save people from having surgery. Our unique therapy is designed to relieve chronic back pain without having to have surgery.
      thank you,

  7. i am 70 years old and i think the harness type you show on tv would help me…to tkae pressure off my lower back would enable me to exercise, lose weight and perhaps allow some relef..i have a back to like machine which helps but i have trouble getting up from the floor after using it…please help me….than you….jan

    • i’m not to proficient with computers so i don’t know if you replied or not…my phone number is 847-740-70970…i would appreciate a reply..thanking you in advance…jan

      • Hello Jan,
        I tried calling you, but the phone number is incorrect. Please call 866.693.0955 to schedule your free consultation with us.
        thank you,

  8. Hello Doctor, I have a herniated and a slipped disc in my back L4 and L5 it is very painful at times and just painfull all the time if you know what i mean, Is there a non-surgical procedure that can help me relieve this pain and maybe correct my discs so I don’t have any more pain?

    • Hello Jim,
      Yes, our therapy corrects and re hydrates the disc with out involving any surgery.
      Please call 866.693.0955 to set up your free consultation.
      thank you,

  9. About 5 yrs ago I had both hips replaced. Since then my doctor has told me the I now have spinal stenosis. Can your facility help me? I can walk but have to use a walker for long distance because of the severe pain. I just turned 57 years young today 6-7 and want very much to be able to be affective in my grand children lives. please help me.

    • Yes Diane, we can help. We treat Stenosis with our unique physical therapy. Our therapy will help you regain your life back. Please call 708-482-9700 to set up your FREE Consultation with us.
      thank you,

  10. I HAVE BEEEN TOLD THAT I HAVE SEVERAL PINCED NERVES HAVE GONE THROUGH PAIN MANAGEMENT HAVE HAD SEVERAL SHOTS BUT NOTHING HELPS THE PAIN IS IN MY LOWER BACK AND GOES DOWN MY LEFT LEG. AT TIMES IT IS BETWEEN MY SHOULDERS AND LOWER NECK. WHAT CAN BE DONE

    • Our therapy rehyrates the disc and releases pinched nerves. We deal with Siatica here in our clinic all the time. Please call us to set up your FREE Consultation right away, 708-482-9700.
      thank you,

Leave a comment